musings and amusings

Psalm 143:5 as seen in my little corner of the world

71517

AND this week, my car hit 151151 on the same day I paid 119.11 in a store.  YEA  that kind of palindrome week!

I am between groups just now.  The LARGE group from Bunker left about 4 hours ago and the next group arrives any time now. The next group is smaller and will be working with Maranatha church next week for their Vacation Bible School (VBS) in English. The Bunker group worked with the Iglesia Bautista Hermanos Unidos in their VBS in Spanish this past week and in maintenance the previous week.

As you can see, while the SCHOOL is closed for summer holidays, the school CAMPUS has been busy.  We have been blessed to have a Deaf Puerto Rican carpenter volunteering with us as he is able.  This summer slowly but surely, he has measured, cut, assembled and is presently installing new kitchen cupboards in the apartment above the classrooms. The “old” cupboards were not that old… but had invited termites to move in.  The Bunker guys worked to remove the old cupboards and reported that there was barely wood left holding things up.  Our new cupboards are made with PVC sheets.  Gonna outsmart those termites yet!

I have been back on the island for 6 days.  Someone asked when my NEXT trip will be.  I said, “Next summer maybe.”  I have none planned but then again, my plans are often interrupted by others’ plans.

This morning I read Jeremiah 24 which is talking about God’s plans for His people. God’s plan is to LOVE His creation. Sin thwarted that plan.  And as I was reading of God’s heart for His people and His longing for us to simply stop being mean and ridiculous and to LOVE Him and trust Him when He says – “No, that’s not right!” I had to stop and sit.

In front of my traditional place to sit and read my Bible, I have a little paper that says:

Don’t just DO

something.

Sit there.

It’s hard to retrain yourself to STOP DOing and start listening, meditating, waiting to see WHAT is it that God wants of us.  In Jeremiah 30:

18 ‘I will restore the fortunes of Jacob’s tents
    and have compassion on his dwellings;
the city will be rebuilt on her ruins,
    and the palace will stand in its proper place.
19 From them will come songs of thanksgiving
    and the sound of rejoicing.
I will add to their numbers,
    and they will not be decreased;
I will bring them honor,
    and they will not be disdained.
20 Their children will be as in days of old,
    and their community will be established before me;
    I will punish all who oppress them.
21 Their leader will be one of their own;
    their ruler will arise from among them.
I will bring him near and he will come close to me—
    for who is he who will devote himself
    to be close to me?’
declares the Lord.
22 “‘So you will be my people,
    and I will be your God.’”

and

Jeremiah 31

I will come to give rest to Israel.”

The Lord appeared to us in the past, saying:

“I have loved you with an everlasting love;
    I have drawn you with unfailing kindness.
I will build you up again,…

God only wants to LOVE on His children.  And we, His children, spend so much time wanting what WE want and doing what WE want to do. God wants to take our worries and give us peace and rest.  God wants to take our heartaches and fill us to overflowing with His everlasting love. God wants to heal our wounds – emotional, physical, spiritual, mental – with His unfailing kindness. He wants to build us up.

But we are obstinate, rebellious children who say to our Father in whose image we are created, “Nope, I don’t want to be like you.  You are nothing to me. In fact, You, God? You do not exist.”

Or those of use who believe in God’s existence say, “Yep.  God is bigger than the boogie man.”  Then we go out and act like He’s smaller than an tick on the back of my dog and accuse Him when things happen that we don’t like.

God just wants you (and me) to take 10 minutes, 15 minutes, ( an hour, a day, the rest of our lives ) contemplating His SuperNatural Character and learning that there really IS more to our lives than us being sniveling bratty children to the One who IS Love.

Well, group 2 has arrived.  They have deposited their bags in their rooms and their groceries in their fridge and now they are off to see the space in which they will be working next week.

I am off to shower and find my hammock and put my feet up while I contemplate these things and my dog’s toenails.  She needs a pedicure desperately. Delilah’s dog, Roxy, keeps her toes neat simply by running on the sidewalk.  Why can Delilah not do that also?

Thanks for stopping by today and thanks for considering these things with me.

Byeya!

 

One comment on “71517

  1. Deborah peel
    July 16, 2017

    I love these little glimpses, and yes, I too, need to be still, in His marvelous presence.

Leave a Reply

Adventures of a Deaf Adult

the journey of being Deaf in a Hearing world.

Freedom Fighters

A Daily Email Encouragement for Men!

Alan Mowbray Jr.

Author, Raconteur, Optimistic Curmudgeon

safehouseblog

Sex Abuse Family Education

CBC Puerto Rico 2012

Just another WordPress.com site

Veg Dread

Carnivore to Vegan to Vegetarian to no longer either LOL

musings and amusings

Psalm 143:5 as seen in my little corner of the world